Blue Hens Field Hockey All-American Greta Nauck finalist for 2017 Honda Cup, Monday on CBS Sports Network

University of Delaware’s  junior field hockey star Greta Nauck is among the 12 Honda Sport Award winners that is a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the coveted Honda Cup. The award winners will be announced on CBS Sports Network during the annual Collegiate Women Sports Awards Show presented by Honda on Monday, June 26 at 9 p.m. ET.

The annual Honda Sports Award is presented by the CWSA to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA sanctioned sports and represents “the best of the best in collegiate athletics.” The 12 finalist for the two awards were chosen by a vote of  administrators from more than 1,000 NCAA schools and among four finalists in each sport.

Nauck helped lead the Blue Hens to their first National Championship in program history and end the year on a 19-game winning streak with an overall record of 23-2.

The Krefeld, Germany native was named NFHCA All-Mid Atlantic Region Player of the Year and CAA Player of the Year this season. Nauck also led the NCAA nationally with 3.04 points per game and had 1.32 goals per game on a school record 76 points and 33 goals. In only two seasons at Delaware, Nauck has already become one of the best midfielder at the school. The junior midfielder is seventh in program history with 103 career points on 44 goals and 15 assists.

This season Nauck was a clutch scoring machine, scoring 10 game winning goals in UD 23 wins. The midfielder was also clutch in the tournament as well, when she scored the game winning overtime goal vs #1 Duke and the game clinching goal vs North Carolina to win the National Championship.

Nauck joins former Blue Hen basketball star Elena Delle Donne as the only Blue Hens to receive the Honda Sport Award. Delle Donne won the Honda Sport Award for her 2012-2013 senior season.

Fans can follow Nauck’s journey to Collegiate Women Sports Awards Show via Twitter (@DelawareFH), Facebook (Delaware Field Hockey), Instagram (@udbluehens) and Snapchat (@udbluehens).

The 11 other finalists include: – Inky Ajanaku (Volleyball; Stanford) – Kelly Barnhill (Softball; Florida) – Kadeisha Buchanan (Soccer; West Virginia) – Katie Ledecky (Swimming & Diving; Stanford) – Alex McMurtry (Gymnastics; Florida) – Kelsey Plum (Basketball; Washington) – Karissa Schweizer (Cross Country; Missouri) – Zoe Stukenberg (Lacrosse; Maryland) – Monica Vaughn (Golf; Arizona State) – Kendell Williams (Track & Field; Georgia) – Belinda Woolcock (Tennis; Florida).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: